California Department of Education Special Education Division

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2016-2017 Exemplar School Sites

Site Visits: Visit a Project READ Exemplar Site to observe the implementation of recognized best practices in adolescent literacy. They will be sharing reading strategies, resources, tools, team building techniques.

Half day Site Visits will include:

Site Visit Stipends are available for Site Teams Meeting the Eligibility Requirements.

Host Site Location Site Visit Coordinator Contact Info Areas of Expertise

Acacia Middle School

Hemet

Ayesha Nuce

anuce@hemetusd.org

(951) 765-1620

Collaborative Data Culture, Student Reading Progress Monitoring

Badger Springs Middle School

Moreno Valley

Michelle Ventura

Mventura1@mvusd.net

(951) 571-4200

Use of Scholastic Resources English 3D

California City Middle School

California City

Jeremy Nelson

jeremynelson@mojave.k12.ca.us

(760) 363-3241

Reading Tools, Anticipation-Reaction Guide

Cedar Middle School

Hesperia

Kelly Maxwell

Kelly.maxwell@hesperia.org

(909) 938-1308

Leadership Implementation, Student Reading, Progress Monitoring

Diamond Valley Middle School

Hemet

Karin Sanchez
Chris Ortiz

ksanchez@hemetusd.org

cortiz@hemetusd.org

(951) 925-2899

Leadership Implementation, Student Reading, Progress Monitoring

Helms Middle School

San Pablo

Rebecca Ridenour

rridenour@wccusd.net

(510)289-8834

Family Engagement

Korematsu Middle School

El Cerrito

Matt Burnham

mburnham@wccusd.net

(510) 231-1449

Collaborative Date Culture

Lynwood Middle School

Lynwood

Shari Kaya

skaya@mylusd.org

(310) 429-0385

Collaborative Date Culture

Mendota Junior High School

Mendota

Yolanda Espinoza

yespinoza@mendotaschools.org

(559) 655-4301

Collaborative Strategic Reading with English Learners

Mountain Vista Middle School

Kelseyville

Jen Conrad

jconrad@kvusd.org

(707) 279-4060 ext. 26

Strategies for Reading, Leadership Implementation, Student Reading Progress Monitoring

(Nettie L) Wait Middle School

Norwalk

Elizabeth Leon
Sofia Garcia

eleon@nlmusd.k12.ca.us

sogarcia@nlmusd.k12.ca.us

(562) 921-7981

Family Engagement

Suva Intermediate School

Bell Gardens

Larry McKiernan

Mckiernan_larry@montebello.k12.ca.us

(562) 927-2679 ext. 6208

Collaborative Data Culture, Student Engagement Support